Friday, November 5, 2010

November 5, 2010 - Hospice Music Therapy

This week, I welcome Jennifer Haskins to the show to talk about Hospice Music Therapy.

Jennifer Haskins, the Music Therapy Department Manager and Internship Director at Big Bend Hospice, is a board certified music therapist and has been serving hospice patients and families for over 5 years. Upon graduation from Florida State University, Jennifer completed Internship working with older adults at Sunshine Terrace Foundation in Logan, Utah. She began working at Big Bend Hospice in March, 2005 and was assigned to the hospice in-patient unit where she gained experience in helping terminally ill patients and their families with acute care needs. Jennifer has also served on the facilities hospice team, and multiple home based hospice teams. In the last two years, Jennifer has collaborated with the Bereavement department, serving children and teen bereavement groups, adult groups and individuals. She is currently leading two bereavement groups in the community, serving individuals in residential court-ordered substance rehab facilities. Above all, the focus of Jennifer's career is to continue to push forward and explore and learn as much as possible.

Listen live at noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific. Or check out the archived show if you missed the live broadcast. Or make it easy on yourself and subscribe to the show in iTunes.

For more information about Big Bend Hospice, check out www.bigbendhospice.org or email Jennifer.
For more information on Hospice Music Therapy, check out these shows:

Leave a comment here and let me know what you think!

2 comments:

Elizabeth said...

Janice, This is a great idea you've put together "The Music Therapy Show" we need more great ideas like this.

As a recent music therapy graduate form the University of Dayton, I am very interested in working in a hospice environment similar to what is described in this post.

I can think of nothing that would be more fulfilling than enhancing someone's life at the end of their life. Keep up the good work!

http://www.free-press-release.com/news-dayton-ohio-music-therapy-graduate-elizabeth-crombie-has-acquired-her-board-certification-to-become-a-music-therapist-or-mt-bc-1293116361.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiYFIRmIm14

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

Thanks Elizabeth! Congratulations on your board certification!