Wednesday, March 25, 2009

March 28, 2009 - Therapeutic Arts

Wade Richards is the Chair and Internship Director at the Hochstein School of Music & Dance in Rochester, New York. Hochstein is a community music school established in 1920 and the music therapy department was created in 1975 to service those with special needs in the community. Over the years the department has grown to serve up to 1,000 clients annually in both private and group therapy settings. Wade is a licenced creative arts therapist with additional training in neurologic music therapy and Performance Wellness. Wade also chaired the Orff-Schulwerk program at Hochstein for a number of years and completed his level training at Eastman School of Music, University of Kentucky, and Arizona State University.

Recently Wade is the founder and executive director of the Therapeutic Arts Program at Hochstein. This transitional day program for ages 21-30 combines the creative art therapies and vocational skill training into one comprehensive program for students with special needs. Join us Saturday as we talk about the Therapeutic Arts Program with Wade Richards.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

March 21, 2009 - SWAMTA Conference

This week, call 646-652-2850 to talk with Stephanie Shehan, Vice President of the Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association. We'll give a preview of the conference happening in Austin next week. For more information about the conference, click here. To listen to the show, go here.

Friday, March 13, 2009

Saturday, March 14, 2009 - Musicophilia

We're continuing our celebration of Music Therapy Month by discussing this year's Southwestern Region of the American Music Therapy Association's Book Club Selection, Musicophilia, by Dr. Oliver Sacks. Please call in to join the discussion! 646-652-2850 at 4:00 Central, 5:00 Eastern this Saturday, March 14, 2009.

Friday, March 6, 2009

Saturday, March 7, 2009 - Sing with Your Child Month

We're continuing our celebration of Music Therapy Month with our guest: Carol Ann Blank. Carol is a music therapist who works with Music Together (r), an internationally recognized early childhood music program for babies, toddlers, preschoolers, kindergarteners, and the adults who love them. First offered to the public in 1987, it pioneered the concept of a research-based, developmentally appropriate early childhood music curriculum that strongly emphasizes and facilitates adult involvement. Join us to learn about the benefits of singing with your child--or your inner child! Call in to participate in the discussion: 646-652-2850 on Saturday, March 7, 2009 at 5:00 Eastern, 4:00 Central, 3:00 Mountain, 2:00 Pacific.

Find out more about Music Together and Sing With Your Child Month at: