Friday, September 25, 2009

October 3, 2009 - Anita Louise Steele

I've been out sick for two weeks, but now I'm back and ready to speak with you all again!

My guest this week is Anita Louise Steele, Director of Music Therapy at Ohio University. Professor Steele was the creator and Director of Music Therapy as well as a practicing clinician at The Cleveland Music School Settlement from 1966 until 2003. In that position she managed a large department of music therapists and developed service contracts with schools, hospitals, treatment centers and nursing homes. She designed the community-based model for delivery of music therapy services and a community based training model for music therapy interns. In addition, Professor Steele was instrumental in the development of a music therapy degree program in the greater Cleveland area and was its first instructor.

Join me Live at 5:00 EDT/4:00 CDT/3:00 MDT/2:00 PDT. Call in with questions or comments about music therapy 646-652-2850. Missed the live show? Listen to the archives by clicking on the player at the right or subscribe to the show in iTunes!

2 comments:

JamieMarie said...

I listened to you show and found it very interesting! I am currently an elementary teacher, but am interested in music, music education and music therapy. Do you know of any (colleges/universities) who have courses/degree in Music Therapy through distance learning/weekend co-horts etc...? I am located in St. Louis, and Maryville University is here, but does not offer classes in the evening for a BA in Music Therapy.

Thank you,
Jamie

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

Jamie, Thanks for listening! There is a master's degree in MT at Colorado State University that is a distance learning program. I don't know about a bachelor's degree offered in the evenings. Check out the AMTA website at musictherapy.org. They list all the schools that offer MT programs and you may be able to find a program that suits you.