Monday, August 31, 2009

September 5, 2009 - Remembering Barry Bernstein

"Bongo" Barry Bernstein, 55, passed away unexpectedly in his home on Wednesday, August 26, 2009. He graduated from the University of Kansas with a degree in Music Therapy. While a music therapy consultant for the Blue Valley School District he performed at libraries and schools around the region. Barry will be greatly missed.

In lieu of flowers, please make donations on behalf of Barry to the Barry Bernstein Education Fund, c/o Healthy Sounds, P.O. Box 40304, Overland Park, KS 66204.

Barry, you were my first introduction to drumming that was accessible to "non-percussionists" at a music therapy conference. I have used the techniques I learned in that course you taught for all 15 years Ive been in practice as a music therapist and will continue to do so. Thank you for all that you have done for the profession. You have made the world a better place.

This week's show is dedicated to Barry Bernstein and will feature some of the percussion techniques I learned from him.

The Music Therapy Show will air on Saturday, September 5, 5:00 EDT/4:00
CDT/3:00 MDT/2:00 PDT at www.blogtalkradio.com/jharrismtbc. The call in number is
646-652-2850. Please share your memories of Barry and your favorite percussion techniques.

3 comments:

mike said...

Janice,

I would LOVE to contribute to this show but I will be celebrating my daughter's adoption this weekend and will not be available for the air time. Barry meant so much to me as a music therapist and a friend and I will forever be in his debt. Maybe sometime I can come on and share some of the techniques I learned from Barry and discuss how his teachings led to the HealthRhythms studies that are so widely taught today. I'll be listening on the archive.

Thanks!
-Mike Marcionetti

Bill said...

Virtually every publication on group drumming, whether clinical or community-based, owes partial lineage to Barry Bernstein. You can search him in YouTube and find past presentations that show his passion and ability to communicate.

I largely knew Barry peripherally, distanced by time. He has nevertheless influenced me in ways that Are immeasurable, and was so supportive during our brief times together. Barry, you will be celebrated for future generations to come.

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

Mike I would love to have you on. Happy Adoption Day! Let me know what Saturday you're available.