Wednesday, July 20, 2011

July 22, 2011 - The Musical Autist

My guest this week is Christy Joy Diachenko, who has 15 years experience as a classical piano teacher. She received her Bachelors of Music from Colorado State University-Pueblo, in 2003. She is currently a graduate student for Music Therapy Board Certification, at Shenandoah University. She has 4 years experience in Anne Arundel County Public Schools, in both music and special education departments, and is currently a home/hospital teacher for some of AA County's most medically-fragile kiddos. She is the founder of the Musical Autist Academy, a place where children on the autism spectrum can learn and engage in music, to help fulfill their IEP goals, as well as to promote opportunities for performance. She blogs at The Musical Autist.

Listen LIVE at 12 noon Eastern, 11 am Central, 10 am Mountain, 9 am Pacific. Check out the archived show here or subscribe on iTunes.


4 comments:

Julie Meekins said...

Thank you for having Christy Joy Diachenko on your show today! She is an amazing young woman with a mission that will change the world. I work with special needs kiddos some of whom are on the autism spectrum.I have been to one of her concerts and was blessed by the opportunity for the autism community. I will definitely be telling my clients about these concerts!

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

My pleasure! I am excited to see where her mission takes her and how her vision will grow.

amykalas said...

Hi Janice,
Thank you so much for the work you do and all the information you share! I just discovered your blog and podcasts and have downloaded over 100 of your podcasts to my ipod. I listen to them in the car everywhere I go and it has made my drive to work SO much more enjoyable!! I just wanted to stop by your site to say hello and thank you for the work you do. I look forward to catching up on previous podcasts and hearing ones to come!
Amy Kalas, MM, MT-BC
Wholesome Harmonies Music Therapy
www.WHmusictherapy.com

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

Amy! Thanks for letting me know and for listening to the show!