Friday, January 28, 2011

Songwriting, Ethics, and other topics

Today I'm going to talk about some successes I've had with a few clients this week, some motivation issues and solutions, and the new Ethics requirement for continuing education for music therapists.

I had a client who wanted to write a song about one of his hobbies this week, so I'll describe the process I used and how I challenged myself to use the piano more in therapy. Piano is not my major instrument and I experienced "piano trauma" in college. So this was a big challenge.

I saw another client this week who was stumbling through spelling a word, so I wrote another song on the spot to help with that task. I'll sing a little for you and let you know how that turned out.

In the third segment, I took a distance-learning Ethics course that fulfills the CBMT requirement for Ethics credits. I'll give a review of the course.

As always, you can listen LIVE at 12 Noon Eastern, 11 AM Central, 10 AM Mountain, 9 AM Pacific. Or you can find the show archives here, or subscribe on iTunes.

3 comments:

Kat Fulton said...

Lots of goodies in this show today, Janice!

Noel said...

Thank you for your show! I enjoyed everything!

Janice M. Harris, MA, MT-BC said...

Thanks for listening, Kat & Noel!